in association with Marlon Blackwell Architects and the
                      University of Arkansas Community Design Center

The City of Texarkana, Texas (pop 37,000) led a vision of downtown regeneration by developing a city block of downtown surface parking into a new urban living room, with amphiteater, bandshell, farmer's market pavilion, splash pad, L.I.D. bioswale system, art walk and road-diet streetscape along 3rd Street. The block the city selected connects three elegant pre-1920s buildings, City Hall, the Regional Arts Center, and the magnificent 1400-seat Perot Theatre.

Flintlock Ltd Co served as Landscape Architect during project design development and construction documents. The initial concept design was developed by Marlon Blackwell Architects and the University of Arkansas Community Design Center with the support of a National Endowment for the Arts Grant. The initial project concept was honored by a 2016 American Architecture Award.

Design development was structured to facilitate funding allocation discussions by the City of Texarkana with their citizens.  Project focus included infrastructure and city department coordination, city code and variance analysis to allow for illegal urban framework re-installation, and streetscape re-design strategies.


City of Texarkana, TX


Citizen's park, Elk city OK

              with REES Architects

A downtown park for Elk City, OK utilizing native plants and a reclaimed material art installation. Designed and developed as the landscape design sub-consultant to REES Architects of Oklahoma City, OK. 


             for University of Arkansas Community Design Center

The Creative Corridor retrofits a four-block segment of an endangered historic downtown Main Street through development catalyzed by the cultural arts rather than Main Street’s traditional retail base. The goal is to structure an identity for the Creative Corridor based on a mixed-use working and living environment anchored by the arts. The challenge involves restructuring a public realm conceived for workday commercial activities to now serve 24/7 urban lifestyles with a high level of livability. The project approach employs four developmental phases in the corridor’s transformation to a downtown node. Nodes provide a sense of centrality and opportunity for social life that counters the dominance of mobility in corridors. Retrofit strategies entail right-of-way reconfigurations and townscaping structures that frame a new land-use ecology of residential, tourism, work, and the cultural arts.

Design and construction team:

Stephen Luoni, Director, Assoc. AIA
Jeffrey Huber, Assistant Director, AIA, LEED AP, NCARB
Allison Lee Thurmond Quinlan, Project Designer, AIA, Associate ASLA
Cory Amos, Project Designer, Assoc. AIA
Benjamin Curtin, Project Designer
Akihiro Moriya, Project Designer
Linda Komlos, Administrative Analyst

Marlon Blackwell, Principal, FAIA
Meryati Blackwell, Principal, Assoc. AIA, NCIDQ, ASID, LEED AP
Jonathan Boelkins, Studio Director, AIA
William Burks, Project Designer and Technical Manager, Assoc. AIA
Justin Hershberger, Project Designer, Assoc. AIA
Bradford Payne, Project Designer, Assoc. AIA
Stephen Reyenga, Project Designer, Assoc. AIA
Heather McArthur, Project Designer

National Endowment for the Arts
Arkansas Natural Resources Commission


2017 Honorable Mention AMoA Biennal 600: Architecture
2015 Honorable Mention International Architecture Awards, Architecture Podium
2015 AIA Florida/Caribbean Honor Award
2014 ASLA Award
2014 AIA Honor Award
2014 Special Mention Architizer A+ Awards for Architecture + Urban Transformation
2013 AR AIA Award
2013 American Architecture  Award
2013 AR APA Award
2013 World Architecture Festival Award Shortlisted
2013 CNU Charter Award
2012 World Architecture News Award Finalist

public housing master plan, kigali rwanda

               for the University of Arkansas Community Design Center

Public Housing Plan developed by the for the City of Kigali, Rwanda by the University of Arkansas Community Design Center. Project partners included Peter Rich Architects, the University of Arkansas School of Architecture, School of Agriculture, School of Law, Department of Biological and Ecological Engineering, and the City of Fayetteville.


The American Institute of Architects
Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture
Clinton Global Initiative


2013 AR ASLA Award
2013 CNU Grand Prize
2013 Residential Architect Design Grand Award
2012 ACSA/AIA Collaborative Practice Award

Project Team

Fay Jones School of Architecture (FJSOA), University of Arkansas, USA
Jeff Shannon, Dean
Marlon Blackwell, Head: Department of Architecture
Peter Rich, John G. Williams Distinguished Visiting Professor
Korydon Smith, Associate Professor
University of Arkansas Community Design Center, FJSOA
Stephen Luoni, Director
Jeffrey E. Huber, Assistant Director
Cory A. Amos, Project Designer
Benjamin Curtin, Project Designer
Akihiro Moriya, Project Designer
Allison L. Thurmond, Project Designer
Erica D. Blansit, Project Intern
Ginger M. Traywick, Project Intern
Peter Rich Architects, South Africa
Peter Rich, Principal, Timothy Hall, Director: Kigali Office
Kigali Institute of Science and Technology (KIST), Toma Berlanda, Head: School of Architecture, Sierra Bainbridge, Lecturer
CANO I VERA Architectura, Mexico
Paloma Vera, Architect
FJSOA Students
Samual R. Annable, Andrew Arkell, Ryan S. Cambell, Enrique Colcha,
Chavarrea Long, Hoang Dinh, Hanna Ibrahim, Kareem Jack, Tanner D. Sutton,
Ginger M. Traywick
KIST Students
Abias Philippe, Mumuhire Aloys Nshimiyimana, Thierry Iraguha, Richard Mpfizi
Jean Bosco Ndunguts, Shaffy Assuman Murwanashyaka, Jacques Murama
Jean Paul Sebuhayi Uwase Jean De Dieu Ngendahimana